Poem: “Initiation”

I always approach, but no one ever pounces
I always send the message, yet no one sends the pigeon
I’ll begin a conversation, but no one ever starts it

The confidence drowns out the awkwardness, yet the shrew never manages to break from it

The stereotype of the being first are stuck in the past
It’s a two way system if one wants anything to last

Pounce and approach first and I’ll pounce back
Give me the pigeon and I’ll send you an eagle
Proud of your effort to break free
Start the conversation for my ears to listen

For once, grab my attention
Instead of me always fighting for yours

The initiation is over.

Maybe it’s time you start it.

Leave a Reply

