Poem: “When I”

When I sleep,
I see you being next to me
With your arms held on tight for security
The warmth we create holds us together
You’ve called this your home.

When I think,
As I lay next to you,
I think of the future we started to build
Those long talks of marriage and our careers
How we will eventually be on our own.

When I dream,
I see the lands we’ve traveled past
The parties we’ve crashed and concerts we’ve sang during
Us looking out into the horizon
Knowing the future is brighter than it ever was.

When I wake,
I remember all this as I rise alone
To an empty bed, once your home
Dilapidated dreams of betrothal and romance
Suddenly out into the ether.

When I head out the door,
I see the horizon knowing that version of time is gone
Parties I’ll continue to crash, concerts I’ll continue to sing during
Lands unexplored I will eventually travel, success in my hands
Will be all for naught without your warmth.

When I sleep,
I see someone being next to me
With my arms held on tight for security
The warmth we create holds us together
Till then, I’ll never feel home.

Leave a Reply

